this has the word “sex” in it

no real title yet, still a work in progress


my kind of queer is
I’m attracted to talent
I want to have sex with your metaphors
I want to spoon with your adventures
my gender is Ellen Page on a skateboard
but my anxiety is a dog trying to go downstairs
and the two together make a sound like a slipping fan belt

my kind of queer is
marriage as slow death
as concert no encore and
they never played your favorite song
my kind of queer is women women women
stop looking at men
you just want their attention
men are the Beatles
you wanna hold their hand
women are Prince
23 positions in a one night stand
my kind of queer is
those shoulders tho
whew. goddamn

my kind of queer is
never the coolest person in the room
my kind of queer is
staring just a little too long
but not in that Bonnie Raitt way
more in that way where I slide up
next to you and never ever talk
my kind of queer is
I hope you’re attracted to awkward
’cause that’s what I’ve got
a poet once told me,
“I run on three things:
caffeine, nicotine, and awkward”
well I don’t smoke
but do you wanna get some coffee
and sniff each other

see? awkward

my kind of queer is
neckties with tank tops
my kind of queer is
a cat on the edge of the bathtub
my kind of queer is
Sister Act 2 and Natty Gann
my kind of queer is
three fingers
with ice
in a tall glass
and I’ve lost count
of how many I’ve had
gimme one more. please.

About betterpast

Thirty-seven and counting. View all posts by betterpast

6 responses to “this has the word “sex” in it

Leave a Reply

