Fearful Symmetry

Friedrich Kekulé once said
he discovered the shape of the
benzene molecule, a perfect ring of
carbon studded with hydrogen,
by dreaming of a snake eating its own tail.
I am reminded of this story
every time I put my foot in my mouth.
I would like to believe in purpose.
I tell myself that this is destiny,
that my mistakes are not mistakes,
that the pristineness of my self-destruction
like the immolation of the phoenix
is an invitation to new beginnings,
to forgetting how broken you make
sure I know I am.
I would like to believe
that even thrusting combustion
out in all directions like
a frightened and flammable
porcupine,
even in this prickly state I am learning
atom by atom
how to live without your oxygen.
I burn bright
all by myself.

About betterpast

Thirty-seven and counting. View all posts by betterpast

2 responses to “Fearful Symmetry

Leave a Reply

